MEG CUNNINGHAM, Independent Missouri
This story was originally published by the Kansas City Beacon.
On November 8, Missourians voted “yes” on the 3rd Amendment, which legalized the recreational use of marijuana, meaning you will now be able to purchase marijuana, as marijuana flower or edibles, for the next few months.
As of Dec. 8, the state will begin transitioning its medical marijuana licenses to recreational licenses, but that doesn’t mean you’ll be able to walk into a dispensary and buy cannabis flowers right away. The transition process will take until February, according to the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, the agency that manages the state’s marijuana industry.
The transition process can be tricky, so The Beacon has compiled a list of frequently asked questions about the process. This page will continue to be updated as the state rolls out program changes, so be sure to check back for the latest updates.
The state is accepting public comment on the recreational program rules through Nov. 25.
Q: When can I buy legal marijuana in Missouri?
A: Recreational marijuana is expected to be available in early February 2023. The DHSS will begin accepting requests to transition licenses from medical facilities to full recreational facilities on December 8th and will have 60 days to approve these requests for changed licenses.
You will be able to enter a dispensary with your ID (to prove you are over 21) and leave with cannabis flower, edibles, pre-rolls or vapes.
Q: How much marijuana can I have?
A: The wording of the 3rd Amendment allows consumers to eat 3 ounces of dried marijuana flower or its equivalent.
Q: Will I be able to grow my own at home?
A: Yes. Under Missouri’s medical marijuana law passed in 2018, Missouri residents were given the ability to grow their own marijuana at home if they registered as patient growers.
DHSS will start accepting personal cultivation requests for recreation from February 6th. Once applications are accepted, Missouri residents age 21 and older can grow marijuana for personal, non-commercial use in a closed, locked facility in their homes. These licenses cost US$150 and are valid for three years.
Missourians will be able to have six flowering plants and up to 18 unripe plants.
Q: Can I smoke marijuana in public?
A: Unless there is a dedicated smoking area for the public consumption of marijuana, smoking in public can still subject you to a civil penalty and a fine of up to $100.
Q: Do I still need my medical marijuana card if I don’t use marijuana recreationally?
A: No, you don’t need to keep your medical marijuana card, but you can. As of December 8 of this year, all approved medical marijuana cards will be valid for three years. Current medical card holders will retain their existing expiration dates. Cards are valid for three years after the next card renewal.
Q: Do I still need to renew my medical card to maintain patient status?
A: Yes, you will need to get your physician’s approval to submit a patient renewal order. But according to the new law, you will only need to renew your card every three years instead of every year as per the current law.
Q: Do I need a patient card if I am going to grow myself at home for medicinal purposes?
A: Yes, you will need a medical marijuana card if you want to become a patient home grower.
Q: Are there any fees I should know about?
A: Yes, if you are still a medical marijuana or caregiver cardholder, the renewal and enrollment fees are $27.76 each, but will only need to be renewed every three years. If you are a patient grower, registration and renewal fees are $110.99.
The Kansas City Beacon is an online news channel focused on local and in-depth public interest journalism.